Uncategorized

Scary lows

Three recent blog posts show just how scary a blood glucose low can be. And before I get into my take on these posts, it’s important to note that each of them end happily. Although they faced a serious medical condition, we have the blessing of hearing their stories.

The first comes from Ninjabetic.

The writer, George Simmons, tells how he finds himself in an ambulance being told about his low blood sugar. How moments before calling 911, his wife, son and daughter try to feed him carbs to raise his blood sugar. His wife tested his blood and he recorded a 37.

“That is what scares me most. I remember nothing before when I started this post. Not a glimpse or flash of the story I heard my wife tell the ER doctor. None of it.”

On the one hand, it’s a remarkably well-written piece. Simmons deserves a lot of credit just for his mastery of the prose. But on the other hand, it’s a remarkably important piece. It’s the kind of thing every person with diabetes should force their loved ones to read so they have an idea of what to do when the worst happens.

Tamra, writing at TuDiabetes.org, tells of recording a high but bolused. Then the story picks up here:

“I decided to check again in one hour. And I would have, except for the fact that I fell asleep. Several hours later I woke up. It was a slow and confused, and panicked waking. I was on the floor for some reason…and blocked in by something. I didn’t know where I was, I didn’t know what was going on.”

Eventually, she tests her blood. She records a 32. But not before hallucinating her mother’s death. It’s a dramatic story.

Finally, Abby writes at Photograbetic how she shared a 30 reading on Twitter and drew snarky commenets of an ambulance driver named Tony, who seems to have little sympathy for people with diabetes.

What’s important about these stories is that our loved ones should read them. When a person with diabetes is incapacitated by a blood sugar low, the people around us will save the day.

Leave a Reply

